Proto-planetary Nebulae

The evolution to cosmic butterflies

The Egg Nebula: Prototype of a proto-planetary nebula as seen from Hubble Space Telescope.

For many deep sky observers planetary nebulae are among the most attractive objects on the night sky. No other type of object has such a large variety of shapes and structures which are observable in detail with amateur telescopes! But how and why does these complex shapes form?

From giant star to planetary nebula
To answer this question we need to take a look on the evolution to planetary nebulae. We consider stars with less then about 8 solar masses. They blow up themselves to a red giant at the end of their life time. They are now in the asymptotic giant branch in the upper right of the Hertzsprung-Russel diagram.

In the beginning they blow away their shell in an intense stellar wind (~10 km/s) followed by a shorter phase of an even more intense and faster superwind (~20 km/s) [1]. The annual mass loss is around 10-7 to about 10-4 solar masses [2]. At this point the development of two different types is possible. The first is called "SOLE" (Star Obvious Low-level Elongated) and is characterized by a homogenous symmetric stellar wind. The wind creates a homogenous, spherical shell which leads to ring nebulae. The superwind is more intense along the equatorial plane producing an ellipsoidal shape. The second type called "DUPLEX" (DUst-Prominent Longitudinally-Extended) has a much more intense equatorial wind. The additional material from the wind creates an optically thick torus of dust around the central star. Perpendicular to the ring two optically thin lobes are created making a bipolar DUPLEX nebula. A near companion of the AGB star can be a reason for the equatorially enhenced wind. A different interpretation of the different appearances of planetary nebulae is given in [3]. It says nearly every PN has a bipolar shape and the appearance only changes with the orientation towards us. Finally these stars enter the stage as proto-planetary nebula or post-AGB star. The central star illuminates the repelled shell, the light is being reflected to us. Thus proto planetaries are reflection nebulae. In this stage a very fast post-AGB wind evolves with velocities of several 100 km/s. This may pass the slower AGB-winds and collide with them which can result in shock ionisation. But the degree of excitation is pretty low and the continuous spectrum still dominate. Photo ionisation needs surface temperatures of about 30,000 K. Central stars of PPNe have temperatures in between 4,000 and 30,000 K, a luminosity of about 104 suns and their spectrum is comparable to type F to G super giants. The post-AGB stage takes about 1,000 years. Only about 100 PPNe are know today. That corresponds quite well with the 1,500 known planetary nebulae with a life time of about 10,000 years.
The surface of the star gets hotter when it has blown away its complete shell. It finally gets hot enough to photo-ionise the shell and let it shine. A planetary nebula has evolved from the proto-planetary. A very nice review of this metamorphosis is given in [4].
The cornerstone for the research on PPNe has been laid in the years 1971 to 1974. In this years the sky has been surveyed with telescopes aboard nine rockets of the Air Force Geophysical Laboratory (AFGL) at a wavelength of 11 µm. Almost all PPNe covered in this project has been first recognized in this survey.

The objects and what can be seen
The visual and photographic observation of these objects is a bit problematic. Observations of SOLE type nebulae are almost impossible because of the central giant star which outshines the faint reflection nebula. The brightness ratios between central star and nebula are several thousand to one which even pushes the Hubble Space Telescope to its limits [1]! So we have to place our focus on the DUPLEX nebulae where the central star lies behind the equatorial dust torus. Unfortunately most PPNe have a very red spectrum, most of the reflected light lies in a spectral range where the human eye is practically insensitive at night. Furthermore the objects are reflection nebulae. Interference filters which might be of great use on planetary nebulae does not work here. However the observation of proto planetary nebulae is not hopeless.

The best known and first discovered PPN is the Egg Nebula in the constellation of Cygnus. It has its name from its appearance on low resolution photographs [5]. It was first cataloged by Fritz Zwicky as IV Zw 67 in his 4th list of compact galaxies as "Pair of blue fuzzy oval compacts". Later the galactic origin of this object has been recognized and intense research began on this object which is now accepted as the prototype of a proto-planetary nebula.
The northern half is brighter by about 2mag and also about 40 percent larger than the southern. The spectrum resembles that of a F5 super giant star. Its distance is adopted as 1 kpc [6]. An interesting feature is the equatorial ring, which is formed by the emission of molecular hydrogen H2. Regrettably this is only visible in infrared wavelengths. Very characteristic are the four searchlight structures, very apparent on the Hubble exposures, which cross in the center of the nebula. They are created by a pair of holes in the polar region of the dust shell surrounding the central star [6]. Concentric rings which are most evident near the searchlight structures tell us about the past of the nebula which has undergone periodical changes of the intensity of the stellar wind. The period must have been around 470-650 years. The object brightened continuously from 15m2 to 13m2 between 1920 and 1958. But now the brightness seems to be more or less constant [7].
When I first observed the object I was surprised by the brightness which I assumed as around 12mag! Furthermore it is large enough to let some of its structure be visible to visual observers. Why aren't there many more observations of this interesting object? Perhaps some are deterred by the obscurity of this object. In the Night Sky Observer's Guide it is described as a very difficult object which is completely wrong! In a 10" telescope it shows up as a bright but pretty small nebula. At higher magnifications its bipolar structure is clearly visible. It consist of two parabola shaped halves, the northern is clearly brighter, and both have a brightness peak in the middle. Between them runs a distinct dark lane.
Every time reflection takes place polarization of the light may come into play. The light is being scattered at the particles in the nebula and the photons oscillate parallel to each other. In rare cases the light of an object is polarized by more then 5 percent, the light of the Egg Nebula is polarized by about 50 percent and this effect is visible with amateur telescopes! Necessary is only a polarizing filter which is used by many amateur astronomers to reduce the glare of the moonlight or which can be found in the photo equipment. If you hold the filter between the eyepiece and the eye and rotate it you can see the nebula fading and brightening. If you rotate the filter so that the nebula is damped most the nebula vanishes nearly completely. If you rotate the filter again by 90 the nebula is nearly as bright as without filter! This is astrophysics live!
The effect is most prominent in telescopes of 8" to 12" aperture. In larger telescopes the nebula is still very bright at minimum transmission so the change light of light is not so obvious.

Left: Drawing of the Egg Nebula, from left: without filter, with polarizing filter at max. transmission, with polarizing filter at min. transmission, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 417 x, fst 6m3, north is down
Right: CCD exposure of the Egg Nebula, Wilfried Wacker, 16" Newton at f/4,5, WATEC camera, 50 x 10 Sec., the field of view is ca. 3' x 3'.

A second well known PPN is M 1-92 or the Footprint Nebula, situated also in Cygnus. A good introduction to this object can be found in [8]. The nebula has a distance of about 2.5 kpc and a luminosity of about 104 suns. The central star has a temperature of 20000 K and thus well on the way to become the source for a planetary nebula. The object has some zones of line emission. In the visual range of the spectrum this is manly Hα, but there is also some few [OIII] emission. In this case it is due to shock emission. The post-AGB wind collides with a velocity of about 200 km/s with the expelled shells of the star, heats them up and excites them to radiate light.
M 1-92 has an appearance which resembles that of the egg nebula very much: a pretty high brightness, it is often said to be around 11 mag, but only a tiny size of 11.5" by 4.5". High magnifications from 300 times and up and good seeing are necessary to detect the bipolar structure. In a 10 inch at 417x the northwest component appears slightly elongated. The much fainter second part can be seen with difficulty as a stellar object. I could not observe any response to the polarizing filter.

Drawing of the Footprint Nebula, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 417 x, fst 6m5; Image of the Hubble Space Telescope

That astronomers do have plenty of fantasy can be seen in our next objects. Like almost all closely examined PPNs this one has a nickname: Frosty Leo. In 1987 first research was done on this object and its nature as PPN was recognized. It is again a bipolar nebula which is seen nearly edge on. It is possibly the larges PPN in the sky with an apparent size of 27". It lies in a distance of about 3 kpc [9]. Using adaptive optics a companion of the central star was found in a distance of 0.18". It is now believed to be the reason for the bipolar shape [10]. Its anomalous spectrum could be explained with 50-65 K cool water grains. Thus it was named the Frosty Leo, Leo as it lies in the constellation Leo.
The observation of the Frosty Leo is similarly easy and rewarding as of the Egg Nebula. It has a central bright part in the shape of an eight with a central peak in brightness. The central star is not visible, at least in the visual part of the spectrum. The central part is surrounded by a fainter halo about twice in size of the central part. I estimate the overall brightness to be around 11 mag. As the Egg Nebula this object is very strongly polarized, up to 60 percent but the polarization angle changes over the surface. This makes the observation very difficult. Nevertheless I believe I saw a changing brightness.

Left: Drawing of Frosty Leo, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 300x, fst 6m8
Right: CCD exposure of Frosty Leo, Wilfried Wacker, 16" Newton at f/4,5, WATEC camera, 50 x 10 Sec., the field of view is 2,5' x 2,5' wide.

One more interesting object is the Westbrook Nebula. It was named after its discoverer Bill Westbrook. Deplorably Westbrook died with the age of only 26 years. The object consists of two 2" lobes in 6.4" distance [11]. The interesting feature of this nebula is, that it a reflection nebula but also emission nebula. The emission here is again due to shock ionisation. The degree of ionisation is very low. Noteworthy is the high fraction of polarized light of 26 %. The distance is assumed to be 0.9 to 3.1 kpc, depending on the method used. The brightness increased from 18m4 in 1954 to 16m5 in 1975 according to [7]. No data for more recent times is available. I could not see the object with my 10" telescope.

Famous manly because of spectacular views from the Hubble Space Telescope is the evolved proto-planetary M 2-9, also known as the Butterfly Nebula.
According to [12] this object lies in a distance of 650 pc and it has a luminosity of about 500 suns. Taking this and the photometric brightness the central star should be of type B5. But such a central star would not be hot enough to explain the high degree of [OIII] emission observed. A way to explain this is a hotter but less luminous companion. Once again the high degree of polarized light of 60 % is notable!
In my 10" the object quoted as 14m6 is a faint nebula, showing a slight response to the UHC filter. The north-south elongation is very clearly seen and the southern part appears brighter. The central star is also visible. I could not observe the polarization as the object darkened to much with the polarizing filter in front of the eyepiece. But observations with instruments from about 14" might be interesting.

Drawing of M 2-9, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 197 x, fst 5m7; Image of the Hubble Space Telescope

Hen 3-1475 is very interesting for professional astronomers primarily because of its, in visual wavelengths observable, up to 2300 km/s fast, collimated outflow (jet). Regrettably this object has not much to offer for the visual observer. It has a brightness of around 12 mag but remains stellar with all magnifications. It shows, as expected, no response to narrowband or polarizing filters. Eric Honeycutt could only assume a faint nebula even in his 22" telescope.

Drawing of Hen 3-1475, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 274 x, fst 5m7; Image of the Hubble Space Telescope

Two objects which might be interesting for CCD observers are CW Leo and the Red Rectangle. In the visual band of spectrum CW Leo is a tiny star of 19th magnitude. If observed in the infrared it becomes one of the brightest stars in the sky!
The Red Rectangle is a small X-shaped nebula around the 9mag star HD 44179. The shape is best seen in red light, for visual observers there is possibly nothing to see.

From left: Westbrook Nebula, Red Rectangle and Rotten Egg Nebula on images of the Hubble Space Telescope
From left: Silkworm Nebula, Gomez's Hamburger and Cotton Candy Nebula on images of the Hubble Space Telescope

The Rotten Egg Nebula also named the Calabash Nebula lies close to NGC 2438 in the open star cluster M 46. The name has been given due to sulfur which was found with radio observations. Michael Kerr succeeded to observe this faint object with his 25 inch telescope.
Three more nebulae which might be visible with amateur telescope are the Silkworm Nebula, the Cotton Candy Nebula and Gomez's Hamburger. They have brightnesses of around 14m3, 13m1 [1] and 14m4 respectively. All three lie in the southern Sagittarius milky way and are thus hard to catch for mid-Europeans. I could not see the Silkworm Nebula from the Alps (47 latitude) with my 10".

Objects

ObjectNameRight ascensionDeclinationother name
CRL 618Westbrook Nebula04h 42m 53.6s+36 06' 53"PK 166-6 1
HD 44179Red Rectangle06h 19m 58.2s-10 38' 14"V777 Mon
OH 231.8+4.2Rotten Egg Nebula07h 42m 16.8s-14 42' 52"Calabash Nebula
IRAS 09371+1212Frosty Leo09h 39m 53.6s+11 58' 54"
CW LeoPeanut Nebula09h 47m 57.4s+13 16' 44"IRAS 09452+1330
M 2-9Butterfly Nebula17h 05m 38.1s-10 08' 33"PK 10+18 2
IRAS 17150-3224Cotton Candy Nebula17h 18m 20.0s-32 27' 20"
Hen 3-1475Garden-sprinkler Nebula17h 45m 14.2s-17 56' 47"IRAS 17423-1755
IRAS 17441-2411Silkworm Nebula17h 47m 10.3s-24 12' 54"
IRAS 18059-3211Gomez's Hamburger18h 09m 13.3s-32 10' 48"
M 1-92Footprint Nebula19h 36m 18.9s+29 32' 50"Minkowski's Footprint
CRL 2688Egg Nebula21h 02m 18.8s+36 41' 38"PK 80-6 1


Literature

[1]Ueta, T., Meixner, M.: An HST Snapshot Survey of Proto-Planetary Nebulae Candidates: Two Types of Axisymmetric Reflection Nebulosities; Astrophys. J., 528, 861 (2000)
[2]Parthasarthy M.: Birth and early evolution of planetary nebulae; Bull. Astr. Soc. India 28, 217 (2000)
[3]Kwok, S.: What is the real shape of the Ring Nebula?; S&T 07/00, 32 (2000)
[4]Kwok, S.: Stellar Metamorphosis; S&T 10/98, 30 (1998)
[5]Ney: The mysterious "Egg Nebula" in Cygnus; S&T 01/75, 21 (1975)
[6]Sahai, R. et al.: The structure of the prototype bipolar protoplanetary nebula CRL 2688 (Egg Nebula): broadband, polarimetric and H2 line imaging with NICMOS on the Hubble Space Telescope; Astrophys. J. 492, L163 (1998)
[7]Gottlieb, E. M., Liller WM.: The photometric histories of CRL 2688 (The "Egg" Nebula) and CRL 618; Astrophys. J. 207, L135 (1976)
[8]Bujarrabal, V. et al: The shock structure in the protoplanetary nebula M1-92: imaging of atomic and H2 line emission; Astron. Astrophys. 331, 361 (1998)
[9]Sahai, R. et al.: The structure and momentum of multiple collimated outflows in the protoplanetary nebula Frost Leo; Astron. Astrophys. 360, L9 (2000)
[10]Roddier, F. et al.: Adaptive optics imaging of proto-planetary nebulae: Frosty Leo and Red Rectangle; Astrophys. J. 443, 249 (1995)
[11]Westbrook, W. E. et al.: Observations of an isolated compact infrared source in Perseus; Astrophys. J. 202, 407 (1975)
[12]Schwarz et. al.: M 2-9: moving dust in a fast bipolar outflow; Astron. Astrophys. 319, 267 (1997)
[13]Kwok S.: Cosmic Butterflies; Cambridge Univer

Proto-Planetarische Nebel

Auf dem Weg zu kosmischen Schmetterlingen

Der Egg Nebula: Prototyp eines proto-planetarischen Nebels, wie ihn das Hubble Space Telescope sieht.

Für einen großen Teil der Deep-Sky Beobachter gehören planetarische Nebel zu den attraktivsten Objekten, die uns der Nachthimmel bietet. Keine anderer Objekttyp zeigt eine derart vielfältige Formengestalt die sich zudem noch sehr detailliert mit Amateurteleskopen beobachten lässt! Doch wie und warum entstehen diese komplexen Formen?

Vom Riesenstern zum planetarischen Nebel
Um diese Frage zu klären, ist ein Blick in die Entstehungsgeschichte der planetarischen Nebel notwendig. Wir betrachten Sterne mit Massen bis etwa 8 Sonnenmassen. Am Ende ihrer Lebenszeit blähen sie sich zu roten Riesen auf. Im Hertzsprung-Russell-Diagramm finden sie sich nun auf dem asymptotischen Riesenast (AGB = asymptotic giant branch) rechts oben.

Anfangs blasen sie ihre Gashülle in einem intensiven Sternenwind (~ 10 km/s) weg. Anschließend setzt eine kürzere Phase mit einem noch stärkeren und schnelleren Superwind (~ 20 km/s) ein [1]. Der jährliche Masseverlust liegt hier etwa in der Größenordnung von 10-7 bis zu 10-4 Sonnenmassen [2]. Nun ist der Ausgangspunkt für zwei unterschiedliche Entwicklungen erreicht. Der erste Typ "SOLE" (Star-Obvious Low-level-Elongated, = Stern deutlich, gering elongiert) zeichnet sich durch einen gleichmäßigen symmetrischen Sternwind aus. Es bildet sich eine homogene sphärische Hülle, die später für uns als Ringnebel sichtbar wird. Entlang der Äquatorebene wird der Superwind schließlich etwas stärker, wodurch die Hülle eine längliche Form annimmt. Beim zweiten Typ "DUPLEX" (DUst-Prominent Longitudinally-Extended, = Staub auffällig, in Längsrichtung ausgedehnt) ist der Wind im äquatorialen Bereich des Sterns noch deutlich stärker. Durch das zusätzliche Material, das der stärkere Äquatorialwind mit sich bringt, entsteht ein optisch dichter Staubring um den Zentralstern. Rechtwinklig zu dem Ring bilden sich schließlich zwei optisch durchlässige Lappen, die einen bipolaren DUPLEX Nebel sichtbar werden lassen. Ein Grund für das Entstehen eines äquatorial verstärkten Windes könnte ein naher Begleiter des AGB-Sterns sein.
Eine andere Interpretation der unterschiedlichen Erscheinung planetarischer Nebel ist in [3] dargestellt. Darin wird davon ausgegangen, dass nahezu alle PN's eine bipolare Struktur haben und sich das Erscheinungsbild nur je nach ihrer Orientierung zu uns ändert.
Schreiten diese Sterne weiter in der Entwicklung, beginnt die Phase als proto-planetarischer Nebel (PPN) oder Post-AGB Stern. Der Zentralstern beleuchtet nun die abgestoßene Hülle, die das Licht schließlich zu uns reflektiert. Der PPN ist also ein Reflexionsnebel. Während dieser Phase bildet sich ein sehr schneller Post-AGB Wind mit Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu mehreren 100 km/s. Diese können die in der AGB-Phase ausgesandten Winde überholen und mit ihnen kollidieren. In solch einer Region kann es zur Schockionisation kommen. Der Grad der Anregung ist aber meist gering und das kontinuierliche Spektrum ist weiterhin dominierend. Photoionisation tritt erst bei Sternen mit Oberflächentemperaturen ab etwa 30000 K ein, die Zentralsterne von PPNs haben Temperaturen zwischen 4000 und 30000 K, eine Leuchtkraft von etwa 104 Sonnen und ihr Spektrum entspricht dem von Spektralklasse F bis G Überriesen. Diese Phase des Sternenlebens dauert nur etwa 1000 Jahre. Lediglich etwa 100 PPNs sind derzeit bekannt. Dies passt recht gut zu den etwa 1500 bekannten planetarischen Nebeln mit einer Lebensdauer von rund 10 000 Jahren.
Hat der Stern schließlich seine komplette Hülle abgestoßen, wird die Oberfläche heißer und es bleibt ein weißer Zwerg übrig. Dieser ist nun heiß genug, um die Hülle zu photoionisieren und damit zum Leuchten anzuregen. Aus dem proto-planetarischen Nebel ist ein planetarischer Nebel geworden. Ein sehr schöner Artikel zu dieser Verwandlung findet sich in [4].
Der Grundstein für die Erforschung der PPN wurde in den Jahren 1971 bis 1974 gelegt. Damals ist der Himmel bei 11 µm Wellenlänge mit Hilfe von Teleskopen an Bord von neun Raketen des Air Force Geophysical Laboratory (AFGL) durchgemustert worden. Fast alle nachfolgend aufgeführten PPNs wurden darin erfasst und zogen nun die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich.

Die Objekte und Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten
Die visuelle wie photographische Beobachtung dieser Nebel ist nicht ganz einfach. Beobachtungen der Nebel vom SOLE Typ sind nahezu ausgeschlossen, da der zentrale Riesenstern den schwachen Reflexionsnebel gnadenlos überstrahlt. Man trifft hier auf Helligkeitsverhältnisse zwischen Zentralstern und umgebendem Nebel von mehreren Tausend zu Eins, was selbst das Hubble Space Telescope bis aufs Äußerste ausreizt [1]! Wir müssen uns also an die DUPLEX Nebel halten, bei denen der Zentralstern fast ganz oder gar komplett durch den äquatorialen Staubring verdeckt wird. Leider haben die meisten PPNs eine recht rotes Spektrum, sie strahlen also hauptsächlich in Spektralbereichen, in denen das Auge nachts unempfindlich ist. Zudem haben wir es hier vornehmlich mit Reflexionsnebeln zu tun. Linienfilter, wie sie bei planetarischen Nebeln hilfreich sind, helfen hier im Normalfall nicht. Dennoch ist die Beobachtung proto-planetarischer Nebel nicht aussichtslos.

Der bekannteste und zugleich zuerst entdeckte PPN ist der Egg Nebula im Schwan, der seinen Namen von seiner Erscheinung auf niedrig aufgelösten Fotos hat [5]. Er wurde zunächst von Fritz Zwicky als IV Zw 67 in seiner 4. Liste kompakter Galaxien als "Pair of blue fuzzy oval compacts" katalogisiert. Später erkannte man aber seinen galaktischen Ursprung und eine intensive Forschung begann an diesem Objekt, das mittlerweile als Prototyp eines PPN gilt.
Die nördliche Hälfte ist um etwa 2 mag heller und auch etwa 40 % größer also die südliche. Das Spektrum ähnelt dem eines Überriesen vom Spektraltyp F5. Seine Entfernung wird mit 1 kpc angenommen [6]. Interessant ist eine äquatorialer Ring, der durch die Emission von molekularem Wasserstoff H2 gebildet wird. Dies lässt sich leider nur im Infraroten beobachten. Sehr charakteristisch sind die vier "Suchscheinwerfer"-Strukturen, die vor allem auf den Aufnahmen des Hubble Space Telescope deutlich erkennbar sind und sich in der Mitte des Nebels treffen. Sie entstehen durch ein Paar von Löchern an der Polregion der den Zentralstern umgebenden Staubhülle [6]. An ihnen lässt sich die Vergangenheit des Nebel recht einfach ablesen, da sich hier deutliche konzentrische Ring-Strukturen abzeichnen, die auf eine periodisch veränderliche Stärke des Sternwindes hindeuten. Die Periode dürfte etwa 470-650 Jahre betragen haben. Von 1920 bis etwa 1958 konnte man einen kontinuierlichen Helligkeitsanstieg von 15m2 auf 13m2 nachweisen. Offenbar bliebt die Helligkeit seitdem mehr oder weniger konstant [7].
Als ich ihn das erste Mal aufsuchte, war ich von seiner Helligkeit überrascht, die ich auf etwa 12 mag schätze! Zudem ist er auch groß genug, um einiges seiner Struktur auch dem visuellen Beobachter preiszugeben. Wieso gibt es nicht eine größere Anzahl von Beobachtungen dieses interessanten Objekts? Vielleicht liegt es auch daran, dass einige Beobachter von der Obskurität des Egg Nebula abgeschreckt werden. Im Night Sky Observer's Guide wird er als sehr schwieriges Objekt beschrieben - völlig zu Unrecht! Bei der Beobachtung in meinem 10" Teleskop zeigte er sich als heller aber recht kleiner Nebel. Bei höherer Vergrößerung ist seine bipolare Struktur sehr deutlich zu sehen. Er besteht aus zwei parabelförmigen Hälften, von denen die nördliche wesentlich heller ist, beide weisen in der Mitte eine Helligkeitsspitze auf. Zwischen den zwei Teilen lässt sich sogar ein deutlicher dunkler Zwischenraum erkennen.
Überall wo Reflexion auftritt kann es auch zur Polarisation des Lichtes kommen. Das Licht wird an den Partikeln des Nebels gestreut und die Lichtquanten schwingen nur noch parallel zueinander. In seltenen Fällen ist das Licht stärker als 5 % polarisiert, das Licht des Egg Nebulas ist etwa 50 % polarisiert! Auch diesen Effekt kann man einfach mit Amateurteleskopen beobachten. Nötig ist lediglich ein Polarisationsfilter, das viele Sternfreunde z. B. zur Dämpfung des Mondlichtes verwenden oder in ihrer Fotoausrüstung finden. Hält man das Filter vor das Okular und dreht es, kann man eine deutliche Veränderung des Nebels feststellen! Dreht man das Filter so, dass das Licht maximal geschwächt wird, verschwindet der Nebel fast ganz, dreht man das Filter nun um 90 weiter, wird der Nebel heller bis man fast keine Veränderung gegenüber der Beobachtung ohne Filter feststellen kann! Das ist Astrophysik live!
Der Effekt läßt sich am Besten mit Teleskopen von 8" bis etwa 12" beobachten. Bei größeren Öffnungen ist er auch bei minimaler Transmission noch sehr hell, daher ist der Lichtwechsel nicht so deutlich.

Links: Zeichnungen des Egg Nebula: v. l.: ohne Filter, mit Polarisationsfilter bei max. Durchlass, mit Polarisationsfilter bei min. Durchlass, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 417 x, fst 6m3, Norden ist unten
Rechts: CCD-Aufnahme des Egg Nebula, Wilfried Wacker, 16" Newton bei f/4,5, WATEC Kamera, 50 x 10 Sek., der Ausschnitt ist ca. 3' x 3' groß.

Ein weiterer bekannter PPN ist M 1-92 oder Footprint Nebula, ebenfalls im Schwan gelegen. Eine gute Einführung zu diesem Objekt findet sich in [8]. Der Nebel befindet sich in etwa 2,5 kpc Entfernung und hat eine Leuchtkraft von etwa 104 Sonnen. Der Zentralstern ist mit einer Temperatur von etwa 20000 K schon recht heiß und weit fortgeschritten auf dem Weg zum planetarischen Nebel. Das Objekt zeigt auch einige Gebiete mit Linienemission. Im Visuellen ist dies hauptsächlich Hα, es ist aber auch eine sehr geringe [OIII]-Emission vorhanden. Sie ist hier der Schockemission zuzuschreiben. Der Post-AGB Wind stößt mit etwa 200 km/s auf die abgestoßenen Hüllen, erhitzt diese und regt sie so zum Emittieren von Strahlung an.
M 1-92 hat ein dem Egg Nebula sehr ähnliches Erscheinungsbild: eine recht hohe Helligkeit, sie wird meist mit etwa 11mag angegeben, aber nur eine winzige Ausdehnung von 11,5" x 4,5". Es sind also sehr hohe Vergrößerungen ab 300 x und dementsprechendes Seeing notwendig, um die bipolare Struktur wahrzunehmen. Mit 10" und 417-facher Vergrößerung erscheint die größere Nordwestkomponente sehr leicht elongiert. Der wesentlich schwächere zweite Teil ist mit Mühe als stellares Objekt zu erkennen. Eine Reaktion auf das Polarisationsfilter wie beim Egg Nebula konnte ich nicht erkennen.

Zeichnung des Footprint Nebula, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 417 x, fst 6m5; Aufnahme des Hubble Space Telescope

Dass Astronomen durchaus Phantasie haben, zeigt sich bei dem folgendem PPN. Er hat wie fast jeder näher untersuchte PPN einen Namen: Frosty Leo. 1987 wurde er untersucht und erstmalig seine Natur als PPN erkannt. Es ist wieder ein bipolarer Nebel, der fast genau von der Kante gesehen wird. Mit einer scheinbaren Ausdehnung von 27" ist er wahrscheinlich der größte PPN an unserem Himmel. Er befindet sich in etwa 3 kpc Entfernung [9]. Mittels adaptiver Optiken wurde ein Begleiter des Zentralsterns in 0,18" Abstand gefunden, der nun als Grund für die bipolare Gestalt angenommen wird [10]. Sein ungewöhnliches Spektrum wurde mit 50-65 K kalten Wasserkörnchen erklärt. Schlussendlich taufte man ihn auf den Namen Frosty Leo.
Die Beobachtung des Frosty Leo ist ähnlich einfach und ergiebig wie die des Egg Nebels. Es zeigt sich ein zentraler heller Teil in Form einer Acht. Er hat eine Helligkeitsspitze in der Mitte, der Zentralstern bleibt allerdings in visuellen Wellenlängen verborgen. Dieser zentrale Teil ist von einem schwächeren Halo mit etwa doppeltem Durchmesser des Zentralteils umgeben. Seine Gesamthelligkeit schätze ich auf 11mag. Der Nebel ist ähnlich wie der Egg Nebel extrem stark polarisiert, bis zu 60 %. Allerdings ist der Polarisationswinkel nicht über den gesamten Nebel konstant. Die Beobachtung dieses Phänomens ist daher sehr schwierig. Dennoch meine ich eine leicht veränderliche Helligkeit beobachtet zu haben.

Links: Zeichnung des Frosty Leo, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 300x, fst 6m8
Rechts: CCD-Aufnahme des Frosty Leo, Wilfried Wacker, 16" Newton bei f/4,5, WATEC Kamera, 50 x 10 Sek., der Ausschnitt ist 2,5' x 2,5' groß.

Ein weiteres interessantes Objekt ist der Westbrook Nebula. Er wurde nach seinem Entdecker Bill Westbrook, einem frischen Hochschulabsolventen, benannt. Leider verstarb er schon kurz darauf mit nur 26 Jahren. Es handelt sich hier um zwei etwa 2" große Lappen mit 6,4" Abstand [11]. Das Interessante an diesem Objekt ist, dass es als PPN sowohl Reflexionsnebel als auch Emissionsnebel ist. Die Emission kommt auch hier von aufeinander treffenden Sternwinden. Allerdings ist der Ionisierungsgrad noch sehr gering. Bemerkenswert ist auch ein recht hoher Anteil an polarisiertem Licht von 26 %. Die Entfernung wird, je nach Bestimmungsmethode, mit 0,9-3,1 kpc angegeben. Nach [7] stieg die Helligkeit dieses Objektes von 18m4 im Jahr 1954 auf 16m5 im Jahr 1975. Über die weitere Entwicklung liegen keine Daten vor. Eine Beobachtung mit einem 10" Teleskop gelang mir leider nicht.

Vor allem durch Fotos des Hubble Space Telescope bekannt ist der recht weit in der Entwicklung vorangeschrittene proto-planetarische Nebel M 2-9, auch als Butterfly Nebula bekannt.
Nach [12] befindet sich dieser Nebel in 650 pc Entfernung und hat eine Leuchtkraft von etwa 500 Sonnen. Diesem Wert und der photometrierten Helligkeit entsprechend müsste der Zentralstern etwa ein B5 Stern sein. Dieser wäre allerdings nicht heiß genug, um die beobachtete [OIII] Emission zu erklären. Es wird daher vermutet, dass ein heißer aber weniger leuchtkräftiger Begleiter existiert. Interessant ist auch hier der hohe Anteil an linear polarisiertem Licht von 60 %!
Im 10-Zöller erscheint das mit 14m6 angegebene Objekt als schwacher Nebel, der auch eine leichte Reaktion auf den UHC-Filter zeigt. Die Nord-Süd-Elongation ist deutlich, wobei der südliche Teil heller erscheint, auch der Zentralstern ist sichtbar. Eine positive Beobachtung der Polarisation gelang mir nicht, da der Nebel mit dem Polarisationsfilter zu dunkel wurde. Hier wären Beobachtungen mit Geräten ab etwa 14" Öffnung interessant.

Zeichnung von M 2-9, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 197 x, fst 5m7; Aufnahme des Hubble Space Telescope

Vor allem wegen seines, im optischen Wellenlängenbereich beobachtbaren, bis zu 2300 km/s schnellen, kollimierten Ausflusses (Jet) ist Hen 3-1475 für Profi-Astronomen interessant. Für den Beobachter bietet dieses Objekt leider nicht sehr viel. Es ist zwar mit einer Helligkeit um etwa 12mag recht einfach sichtbar, erscheint aber bei allen Vergrößerungen stellar. Es zeigt erwartungsgemäß keine Reaktion auf Schmalbandfilter oder das Polarisationsfilter. Eric Honeycutt konnte selbst in seinem 22" Teleskop nur einen schwachen Nebel vermuten.

Zeichnung von Hen 3-1475, Martin Schoenball, 250/1250 Newton, 274 x, fst 5m7; Aufnahme des Hubble Space Telescope

Zwei Objekte, die vor allem für CCD-Beobachter interessant sein könnten, sind CW Leo und das Red Rectangle. Im Visuellen ist CW Leo ein unscheinbarer Stern 19. Größe, beobachtet man im Infraroten, wird er einer der hellsten Sterne des Himmels!
Das Red Rectangle hingegen zeigt sich als kleiner X-förmiger Nebel um den 9 mag-Stern HD 44179. Die Form ist im roten Licht am einfachsten zu erfassen - visuell ist hier wohl nichts machbar.

Von links: Westbrook Nebula, Red Rectangle und Rotten Egg Nebula auf Aufnahmen des Hubble Space Telescope
Von links: Silkworm Nebula, Gomez's Hamburger und Cotton Candy Nebula auf Aufnahmen des Hubble Space Telescope

Der Rotten Egg Nebula oder auch Calabash Nebula (Calabash = engl.: Flaschenkürbis) liegt neben NGC 2438 im Sternhaufen M 46. Den Namen (Rotten Egg = engl.: verfaultes Ei) hat dieses Objekt von Astronomen bekommen, die bei Beobachtungen im Radiobereich mehrere Moleküle mit Schwefel gefunden haben. Michael Kerr gelang eine Beobachtung dieses schwachen Objektes mit seinem 25-Zöller.
Drei weitere Nebel, die mit Amateurteleskopen zugänglich sein dürften, sind der Silkworm Nebula, der Cotton Candy Nebula und Gomez's Hamburger. Sie haben Helligkeiten von etwa 14m3 und 13m1 [1] sowie 14m4 für letzteren. Alle drei stehen leider recht weit südlich und sind daher für Mitteleuropäer kaum erreichbar. Den Silkworm Nebula konnte ich unter Alpenhimmel mit einem 10" Teleskop nicht sehen.

Objekte

ObjektNameRektaszensionDeklinationandere Bezeichner
CRL 618Westbrook Nebula04h 42m 53.6s+36 06' 53"PK 166-6 1
HD 44179Red Rectangle06h 19m 58.2s-10 38' 14"V777 Mon
OH 231.8+4.2Rotten Egg Nebula07h 42m 16.8s-14 42' 52"Calabash Nebula
IRAS 09371+1212Frosty Leo09h 39m 53.6s+11 58' 54"
CW LeoPeanut Nebula09h 47m 57.4s+13 16' 44"IRAS 09452+1330
M 2-9Butterfly Nebula17h 05m 38.1s-10 08' 33"PK 10+18 2
IRAS 17150-3224Cotton Candy Nebula17h 18m 20.0s-32 27' 20"
Hen 3-1475Garden-sprinkler Nebula17h 45m 14.2s-17 56' 47"IRAS 17423-1755
IRAS 17441-2411Silkworm Nebula17h 47m 10.3s-24 12' 54"
IRAS 18059-3211Gomez's Hamburger18h 09m 13.3s-32 10' 48"
M 1-92Footprint Nebula19h 36m 18.9s+29 32' 50"Minkowski's Footprint
CRL 2688Egg Nebula21h 02m 18.8s+36 41' 38"PK 80-6 1


Literatur

[1]Ueta, T., Meixner, M.: An HST Snapshot Survey of Proto-Planetary Nebulae Candidates: Two Types of Axisymmetric Reflection Nebulosities; Astrophys. J., 528, 861 (2000)
[2]Parthasarthy M.: Birth and early evolution of planetary nebulae; Bull. Astr. Soc. India 28, 217 (2000)
[3]Kwok, S.: What is the real shape of the Ring Nebula?; S&T 07/00, 32 (2000)
[4]Kwok, S.: Stellar Metamorphosis; S&T 10/98, 30 (1998)
[5]Ney: The mysterious "Egg Nebula" in Cygnus; S&T 01/75, 21 (1975)
[6]Sahai, R. et al.: The structure of the prototype bipolar protoplanetary nebula CRL 2688 (Egg Nebula): broadband, polarimetric and H2 line imaging with NICMOS on the Hubble Space Telescope; Astrophys. J. 492, L163 (1998)
[7]Gottlieb, E. M., Liller WM.: The photometric histories of CRL 2688 (The "Egg" Nebula) and CRL 618; Astrophys. J. 207, L135 (1976)
[8]Bujarrabal, V. et al: The shock structure in the protoplanetary nebula M1-92: imaging of atomic and H2 line emission; Astron. Astrophys. 331, 361 (1998)
[9]Sahai, R. et al.: The structure and momentum of multiple collimated outflows in the protoplanetary nebula Frost Leo; Astron. Astrophys. 360, L9 (2000)
[10]Roddier, F. et al.: Adaptive optics imaging of proto-planetary nebulae: Frosty Leo and Red Rectangle; Astrophys. J. 443, 249 (1995)
[11]Westbrook, W. E. et al.: Observations of an isolated compact infrared source in Perseus; Astrophys. J. 202, 407 (1975)
[12]Schwarz et. al.: M 2-9: moving dust in a fast bipolar outflow; Astron. Astrophys. 319, 267 (1997)
[13]Kwok S.: Cosmic Butterflies; Cambridge University Press (2001)